AAP wins big in Bawana; BJP takes Goa

The assembly by-polls results in Bawana came as a disappointment to the BJP as they could only manage to be a distant second. Aam Aadmi Party managed to win the battle in an intense battle. AAP candidate, Ram Chander got 59886 votes, BJP’s Ved Prakash got 35834 votes and Congress’ Surender Kumar stood at 31919 votes.

In Goa, where the by-polls were contested for two assembly seats, the BJP saw an easy win.  CM Manohar Parrikar registered an easy victory in the assembly elections by winning the Panaji seat by a margin of 4803 votes.
In the other seat, BJP’s Vishwajeet Rane bagged Goa’s Valpoi seat, defeating Roy Naik of the Congress by a margin of 10,066 votes.

“I will resign from Rajya Sabha next week,” Goa CM Manohar Parrikar tweeted after winning Panaji by-poll.

In Andhra Pradesh, BJP’s ally TDP won the Nandyal by-poll. Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy, who is a novice in electoral politics, defeated his Congress counterpart and former minister Shilpa Chandra Mohan Reddy by a huge margin of 27,466 votes.


Sources: India Today, First Post

Feedback welcome!