Cristiano Ronaldo grabs UEFA POTY, first to win three titles

Real Madrid ace Cristiano Ronaldo grabbed his second consecutive UEFA Player of the Year and became the first person to win the award three times in the UEFA Champions League draw held at Nyon on Thursday. Ronaldo tipped bitter rival Lionel Messi and Gianluigi Buffon for the award.

Cristiano scored 12 goals in the competition including his brace in the final and led Real Madrid to their record 12th title as well as the first team in the Champions League era to retain their title. Ronaldo leads the UEFA POTY tally now with three, ahead of Leo Messi’s two and one apiece by Andres Iniesta and Frank Ribery.

The Portuguese were also adjudged as UEFA forward of the year joining Luka Modric as best midfielder and Sergio Ramos as the best defender of the tournament. Juventus legend Gianluigi Buffon won the top goalkeeper award.

Elsewhere, Lieke Martens of Barcelona won the UEFA Women’s POTY. The striker was instrumental in Netherland’s European Championship victory this summer, where she was named player of the tournament.

News Source: BBC, Goal

Image Source: Tribune

Feedback welcome!