E Palaniswamy’s government cleared the floor test to win power

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswamy won the floor test with 122 MLAs in his favor after high drama and violence over secret ballot demand in Tamil Nadu assembly.

Former chief minister O Panneerselvam lost his last chance to turn to the CM seat as only 11 MLAs were on his side. The rest of opposition legislators from DMK and IUML were evicted, while the congress members walked out in protest. Therefore Palaniswamy government won the confidence vote with only AIADMK legislators present in the assembly.

The House witnessed two adjournments on Saturday due to the conflict over postponing the assembly and ballot voting as Speaker P Dhanapal was in favor of holding division vote while the opposition parties and the rebel AIADMK insisted on holding a secret-ballot voting. The assembly soon turned into a war zone as chairs were flung, tables turned over assembly notes torn, and even the speaker’s microphone was broken amidst the chaos.

Surprisingly the CM Palaniswamy, rebel Paneerselvam, and AIADMK MLAs remained seated and did not react to the chaos, the DMK legislative created a ruckus. Opponent M K Stalin attracted press by showing his torn shirt. He rushed to the Raj Bhavan to meet the Governor and complain about the incidents.

The floor test in the Assembly happened for the first time in the state in about 30 years.High security was arranged outside the Assembly to prevent any turmoil.

News Sources: Indian Express, Times of India

Image Source: PTI

Feedback welcome!