Pakistan new cabinet in place with new PM Abbasi Presiding

Pakistan’s new Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi’s cabinet was sworn in on August 4, 2017Friday. The ceremony for the 46 members strong cabinet was held at the Presidency in Islamabad. While 46 members were supposed to be sworn in, it was reported by Xinhuanet that only 43 members of the cabinet turned up.  The oaths were administered by President, Mammon Hussain.

There are new and old faces to the cabinet. However, there have been numerous reshuffling. Khawaja Muhammad Asif has been given the office of the country’s foreign minister. Ahsen Iqbal is given the charge of the interior ministry of the Prime Minister. The new cabinet includes six new federal and 12 state ministers.

The new members are Khurram Dastagair as the Defence minister, Pervaiz Malik as the Minister for Commerce. Ishaq Dar has retained his former position as the Finance Minister.

Arshad Laghari is the State minister for industries and production and Junaid Anwar, the state minister for communication.

Following the oath taking session, the new Prime Minister will preside over the first session of the cabinet.




2. ANI News-



Image Source- ANI

Feedback welcome!