Ex-Chief Justice of India appointed Kerala Governor

New Delhi: In a controversial decision, a former Chief Justice of India, P. Sathasivam has been appointed as the Governor to the state of Kerala after former Delhi Chief Minister, Sheila Dikshit, stepped down recently.

All the governors who were appointed during the UPA regime were being sacked, or transferred by the newly elected Narendra Modi government. This led to eight governors resigning from their post so far.

The decision, however, has not gone down well with many, especially among the members of Bar association and Congress party. For the first time in the history of this country, a non-political individual has been appointed as the Governor of a state. Besides, it is usually expected that a Judge refrain observe a ‘quarantine period’ during which he does not take up any responsibilities except for that of Judicial Inquiry Commission.

The Congress party members while protesting his appointment, are of the opinion that Justice Sathasivam was given such a plum post owing to his involvement in acquitting Amit Shah in the Sohrabuddin Sheikh fake encounter case. “Why was he made? This raises a question if he has done some work, for which they are pleased. Prime Minister Modi is pleased, Amit Shah is pleased and that is why he is being honoured?,” questioned Congress spokesperson Anand Sharma.

The 65-year-old who retired in April this year, will be appointed governor ‘with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office’ informed a communique from Rashtrapati Bhavan

Read more at: http://zeenews.india.com/news/nation/ex-chief-justice-of-india-p-sathasivam-appointed-governor-of-kerala_1464577.html

Sheila Dikshit resigns as Kerala Guv

Picture Courtesy – www.firstpost.com
New Delhi: Former Chief Minister of Delhi Sheila Dikshit has penned down her resignation from continuing as the Governor of Kerala after she had just completed five months of her tenure.

Sheila Dikshit had met President Pranab Mukherjee and Home Minister Rajnath Singh yesterday. The resignation now sees her to be the 9th Governor to have vacated their seats after the NDA has come to power. “I did what my heart said I should do,” Dikshit said after resigning. She also refrained from commenting further stating that only after her resignation is accepted shall she unveil what she plans for the future.

BJP spokesperson Shahnawaz Hussain has reacted to the decision saying, “Good that Sheila Dikshit resigned on her own, now she can work for her party.”

List of other governors dismissed during Modi’s Term:
1) Puducherry governor Virendra Kataria was sacked.
2) Mizoram governor Vakkom B Purushothaman resigned because he was unhappy with his transfer to Nagaland.
3) Kamla Beniwal former governor of Gujarat later transferred to Mizoram was asked to step down from her post.
4) BL Joshi of Uttar Pradesh resigned
5) Shekhar Dutt in Chhattisgarh resigned
6) Ashwani Kumar in Nagaland resigned
7) BV Wanchoo in Goa resigned
8) M K Narayan in West Bengal resigned